Peter Treloar MP

Peter TreloarBorn and raised on a farm near Cummins, Peter Treloar MP is a fierce and devoted advocate for the Eyre Peninsula. Peter went straight into agriculture after finishing school (at Cummins Area School and Prince Alfred College) where he enjoyed a long and rewarding career. From this he has a particular understanding of small business and the pressures the sector experiences.

Peter believes that the natural environment underpins our communities. On Eyre Peninsula the issue of water security is forefront, and one of his first achievements as an MP was to instigate, through Parliament’s Natural Resources Committee, an Enquiry into the Eyre Peninsula Water Supply.

His leadership on a variety of industry boards, including Primary Producers SA, Grains Council, Nuffield Australia and EPNRM, has provided him with strong skills in mediating between government and industry groups. Peter was awarded a Nuffield Scholarship in 2002, enabling him to travel extensively and research value-adding opportunities for Australian grain, and grain industry structures.

Peter has held a variety of roles during his time as the Member for Flinders, including being the Shadow Minister for Emergency Services, Veterans Affairs and Volunteers, Leader of the Opposition’s Parliamentary Secretary, Shadow Cabinet Secretary and Opposition Whip. He is currently the Deputy Speaker and Chair of Committees with the current State Government, a role he is relishing.

While he is member of various government and volunteer organisations, he is the patron of the Cummins Show, W&CH Auxiliary Port Lincoln branch, Mentoring EP and the Mortlock Shield, to name a few.

Peter and wife Annette reside on the family farm at Edillilie.

Tony Irvine

Tony IrvineTony Irvine commenced a career in Local Government from September 1991 and has been a Chief Executive Officer in Local Government from 1993 to 2020 (except for a break of twelve months in 2011 where he managed his own consulting business).

He is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, an Associate of the Institute of Municipal Management, member of the Local Government Managers of Australia and a Justice of Peace (since September 1992).

He has had experience in State Government (Education and SA Water from February 1974 to September 1991) along with interests in his family’s company whilst being employed in other industries. Tony retired from the workforce in January 2020 and has continued his volunteering and board memberships.

He has been involved in many local and regional volunteer organisations mainly in the community sports area from the 1980’s until the present day. He is a Life Member of the Ceduna Sporting Club.

He is currently holds the following positions:

  • Chairperson of the Eyre Peninsula Football Council (Since Sept 2018)
  • Deputy Chairperson of the Port Lincoln Race Club and has been a Board Member of the organisation since September 2012.
  • Board Member of the EP Landscape Board (since April 2020) and was an inaugural Board Member of the Eyre Peninsula NRM Board from January 2005 to January 2009.
  • Patron of the Eyre Peninsula Community Foundation since October 2018

He is one of the founding directors of the Eyre Peninsula Community Foundation (Steering Committee & Director from March 2004 to October 2012)and was extensively involved in the establishment of the foundation.

His focus in retirement is to assist his community and region better prepare for the future. He also plans to enjoy the company of friends and family on a more regular basis.